St. Louis Bucket List: Skating, Music, and Jane Austen

As with many other things, I’m using my thesis as an excuse for why it’s been a while since I’ve blogged.  I think it’s valid in this case.  In the final stages of writing and editing the 75 page document, I was putting most of my creative energy into it.  I didn’t have much left over for the rest of my classes, let alone blogging.  But I’ve finished it, and I’m proud of what I’ve produced.  I’ll always see things I want to improve or tweak, but I’m proud of what I have been able to do in the past seven months.  And I’m still interested in my topic–socially placeless characters in Jane Austen’s novels.  I explored how one of my favorite authors asserts the value of those excluded from the status structure of mainstream society, and I find her novels even more compelling with this social commentary.  Researching and writing my thesis was a lot of work I didn’t want to do all the time, but I did it, and I’m happy with it.  And it’s done!

It's cool

It’s cool…

Letting go of the rail!

Letting go of the rail!

Before I finished, I took a break one Friday afternoon to go ice-skating at Steinberg rink in Forest Park with a friend.  We thought it would be a good day because it was sunny and not too cold.  It was a nice day to be outside, but not particularly nice to ice-skate outside.  The rink was a little slushy and featured some large puddles, but we still enjoyed the afternoon and laughing at ourselves try to skate.

To celebrate finishing my thesis, I went to see Chappo and Royal Teeth perform at The Demo in Tower Grove.  I went with a friend who had also just turned in her thesis, and though we still had more essays to write it was great to take the time and celebrate what we had done.  It’s good for me to remember that even when I think I’m too busy, I still have time to enjoy life and spend time with my friends.

That’s it for now, but as you can see from my full bucket list, I have my work cut out for me for the rest of the semester.  It’s going to be a crazy, wonderful spring.

3 comments

  1. […] Steinberg Rink ice skating (2/21) […]

  2. Congrats on finishing your thesis, Ellie!

    1. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

